cmh@home presents
Fri, 6/17/2022 - Sun, 6/26/2022
Enjoy this free concert in our cmh@home series!


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827)
Sonata for Piano and Violin in D Major, op.12, no.1 (1798) (program notes)


Bios for each of the artists are found by clicking on their name.


Arnaud Sussman, violin

Wu Han, piano



Music is the bond that unites the life of the spirit to the life of the senses. Melody is the sensitive life of poetry.   — Ludwig van Beethoven


While Beethoven’s cycle of ten sonatas are all filled with depth and greatness, this first sonata of his opus 12 was composed in his early years, and demonstrates his stunning ability to treat each instrument equally — the first serious composer to begin this significant trend.


This beautiful performance of Beethoven’s Sonata for Piano and Violin in D Major, op.12, no.1, features the amazing violinist Arnaud Sussman, with our CMH favorite, Wu Han, on piano!


We hope you enjoy this respite from the summer heat as we wait for the beauty of our Chamber Music Houston’s 2022-23 Season of Quintets, in which seven quintets will be performed throughout the nine performances!


Enjoy the complete notes provided for this piece by clicking HERE or on the title listed at the top of the page!




Available Friday, 6/17/2022 through Sunday, 6/26/2022  —  click HERE or on the Stream button above to enjoy this free concert presentation.


Helpful Tips to Enjoy the Concert may be found here




This special programming is being provided to you at no charge because Chamber Music Houston is committed to inspiring a passion for chamber music throughout the world for another 60 years.


Please consider a donation to further support these efforts.


We thank you and look forward to experiencing amazing performances in the concert hall with you!




start now